top of page
Blog: Blog2
Writer's pictureJen Sum

Walnut Mocha Roll - Low Carb, Keto

YUMMMMM!!! that's all I have got to say on this one. I remembered I made this dessert right after attending a friends wedding reception. Unfortunately, I could not eat a slice of the wedding cake as I was only 6 months into my Keto Diet. So, I decided to make this and trust me it did not disappoint.

Making this can be a little time consuming but seriously worth it. I think the sponge is the most time consuming part of this dessert but if you want to convince your family members that you are not eating some tasteless cardboard just because you are on a diet, then this is it. It will be a big hit with everyone, I promise.

The sponge is very light and the cake is filled with mocha buttercream. As I child my favorite cake was from a bakeshop called Goldilocks. I swear this is a copycat for their mocha roll. Try it out! I swear you would be glad that you did. =)


Yield: 16 slices

Total Carbs: 4.4 g per serving


INGREDIENTS:


SPONGE:

- 7 eggs separated

- 150 g walnuts

- 100 g sugar substitute

- 2 tbsp. almond flour

- 1-2 tsp espresso powder

- unsweetened shredded coconut for dusting


FILLING:

- 250 g butter (room temperature)

- 100 g of powdered sweetener (I used swerve)

- 1 tsp. espresso powder

- 1/4 c. heavy whipping cream


SPONGE INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Preheat oven @ 350F. Spray or butter a jelly roll pan and place a parchment paper. Set aside.

2. In a food processor, ground the walnuts until it resembles a flour.

3. Combine the walnut flour and Almond flour together in a separate bowl and set aside.

4. In a separate bowl, separate the egg yolk from the egg white. Beat the egg whites until soft peak and add the sugar substitute in three stages.

5. Add the egg yolks one at a time just until they are incorporated. Be careful not to over mix the egg whites.

6. Fold in walnut mixture to the egg whites.

7. Place in Baking pan and Bake for 10-14 mins at 350F or until done. You will know that the sponge is done when you press on it and it springs back.

8. Meanwhile, take a tea towel and dust with unsweetened shredded coconut. Once the sponge is done, flip the sponge upside down to the tea towel. Remove the parchment paper .Starting at one end, roll the sponge while it is hot. Let it cool rolled for 30 minutes.

9. While waiting for the sponge to cool, you can start on the buttercream filling.


FILLING INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Cream the butter until it is fluffy. Add the sweetener and espresso powder.

2. Add the whipping cream 1 tbsp at a time.

3. Beat until it is a spreadable consistency then set aside.


After the sponge has cooled down, unroll and spread the filling. Roll the sponge again. I finished mine with a dusting of cocoa powder or powdered sweetener. Enjoy!!


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page