top of page
Blog: Blog2
Writer's pictureJen Sum

"Cinnamon Bun" Waffles

Updated: Mar 8, 2019

Today is one of those days that my sweet tooth is just raging. Usually, I can just head to Tim Hortons, Cobbs or Safeway and just grab me donuts that I can indulge. I am trying to be good here but it is taking so much self discipline not to. Self discipline is something that I have been lacking lately since re-starting the Ketogenic Diet. I swear, it was not this hard the first time around. I guess there was more at stake the first time around such as my brother's wedding and my own wedding. hahaha.. But seriously, this is not easy at all!

My saving grace today is that my laziness outweigh my lack of discipline. hahaha. I am seriously comfortable staying in my PJ's and it is almost noon. Days like these are rare so I had to ask myself: What is more important? Being lazy? or binging on donuts? lol..

Yes, I know what you guys are thinking... My choice this time around is to be lazy and stay in my PJ's!!! =)


Unfortunately, that does not solve my sweet tooth issue. So, I have decided to whip something sweet and easy in my kitchen. I find waffles are always super easy. I know it can be time consuming as you need to separate egg yolks and egg whites and whip up the egg whites until stiff peak. I am not that picky this time around. The goal is to just satisfy this craving I have. But if you really want, you can whip up the egg whites until stiff peak and fold it into the batter to make a light and fluffy waffles. Be my guest! =)


The recipe for today is "Cinnamon Bun" Waffles. I overcooked mine so make sure to carefully watch it like a hawk. Almond flour tend to cook faster so just make sure you are checking. I do suggest whipping up your egg whites and folding them to make a fluffier waffles but if you do not have the time or the patience, the recipe as is works too. ENJOY!



 

"Cinnamon Buns" Waffles:

Yield: 4





INGREDIENTS:

WAFFLES:


- 1/2 c. Almond Flour

- 2 tsp. cinnamon

- 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum

- 3 tsp. baking powder

- 4-6 tbsp. sugar substitute (Depending on your sweetness preference)

- 2 eggs

- 4 tbsp. melted butter

- 2 tsp. vanilla


FROSTING:

- 4 tbsp cream cheese

- 1.5 tbsp sugar substitue

- 1 tsp. vanilla

- 1 tbsp. heavy cream


INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Whisk the waffle ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Pour the waffle mix onto the waffle iron and cook until done.

2. While the waffles are cooking, mix the frosting ingredients and microwave for 30 seconds until cream cheese is melted.

3. Place the waffles onto the plate and top with cream cheese frosting.


Total Carbs: 4.6 g per serving

Fiber - 2g

Net Carbs: 2.6g per serving

4 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page